County Commissioners

Avery County is governed by a five member board of county commissioners which hold office for four years. A county manager is responsible for day to day county operations. Newland, the county seat, is governed by its town council. The five members of the council are elected for two year terms. The town's chief executive is an elected mayor. The mayor supervises the work of the different departments of the town's government. A town clerk, assisted by the mayor, is responsible for daily operations. Other townships in the county govern the same way.

Click Below for Commissioner Profiles

Commissioner  Vice-Chair Chair  Commissioner Commissioner 
Dennis Aldridge Tim Phillips Martha J. Hicks   Blake Vance Wood Hall Young, Jr.


Clerk to the Board/Assistant County Manager

Cindy Turbyfill
PO Box 640
Newland, NC 28657