Finance Department

The Finance Department operates an accounting and reporting system in compliance with NC General Statute 159 (Local Government Budget and Fiscal Control Act) and other NC General Statutes, Federal laws and regulations. The primary purpose of the Finance Department is to provide sound fiscal policies and accurate financial reporting to support the overall fiscal management of Avery County.

The Finance Department is under the direction of the County Manager, and includes such activities as payment of the County’s bills, purchasing, assisting in budget preparation, processing payroll, administering employee benefits (such as health care benefits and retirement plans), auditing, administrating debts and accounts receivable, and assisting departments with annual budgetary and other financial matters.

This department also has the responsibility of overseeing all Information Technology (IT) matters, which includes the acquisition, development, maintenance and use of computers and telecommunications systems within the county.


Mailing Address:
PO Box 640
Newland, NC 28657

Phone: (828)733-8200
Fax Number : (828)733-8209

The Finance Office is located on the 2nd floor in the Administrative Building at 175 Linville St., Newland, NC.


Monday – Friday
8:00am – 4:30pm


Caleb Hogan, Finance Officer
Phone: (828)733-8200

Ashley Cole Ingwersen, Deputy Finance Officer
(Payroll/Human Resources)
Phone: (828)733-7006

Starla McClellan, Deputy Finance Officer
(Accounts Payable)
Phone: (828)733-7000
Dennis Holland, IT Manager
Phone: (828)737-5539