Our Government

Avery County is governed by an elected five member board of commissioners who hold office for staggered terms of either two or four years. The length of term is determined during the election with the commissioner receiving the highest percentage of votes having the longer term of four years. The board of commissioners sets the county property tax rate and adopts the budget each year. The board also establishes county policies by adopting resolutions and local laws (ordinances).
The commissioners appoint a county manager who is responsible for day to day county operations.

Click Below for Commissioner Profiles

Commissioner  Chairman  Commissioner  Vice Chairman  Commissioner 
Dennis Aldridge Martha J. Hicks Robert Burleson Tim Phillips Wood Hall Young Jr.